Welcome to www.cartaste.com !!!

Under age drinking law in Missouri

Question:

The Senate narrowly passed an amendment preventing those under 16 convicted of being a minor in possession alcohol from obtaining their drivers' licenses until they turn 18, up from 16 1/2 under the original measure. The bill also calls for teens' drivers' licenses to be suspended after a first alcohol possession offense, rather than a second offense as current law holds.
And those ages 16-21 with traffic-related alcohol offenses or possessing alcohol while driving would have their licenses suspended for two years for a first offense and four years for a second offense. Currently, a first offense is a 90-day suspension.
===============
So if your 16 and get caught but you are not driving there is no punishment or am I reading it wrong?
PK

Answer:

From what you posted it appears that if they are at least 16 but did not commit a traffic related offense nothing happens or at least as far as the license goes anyways.

Answer:


Nothing should happen to your driver's license if your alcohol-related offense did not occur when you were driving. Whatever happend to let the punishment fit the crime?
In the grand scheme of things, underage possession of alcohol is miniscule. Sure, there is a lot of problems that result from alcohol and driving......but I think a lot of this stuff goes too far.
I lived in Germany (when my dad was in the service) where they have no drinking age {okay, it is technically 18 - but they sure do not enforce it}; yet their drunk driving problems pale in comparison to ours. German teens are much more mature about beer/liquor consumption than are American youths. Heck; they even have beer machines that dispense bottles anywhere!
Maybe it goes back to the "forbidden fruit" adage of long ago.

Flying Dutchman; drank more before 21 than I have since

Answer:


FYI. underage possession or consumption of alcohol is a Class I Misdemeanor in Virginia. This is the most serious misdemeanor class, with the maximum punishment being one year in jail and a $2500 fine.
No, you won't get that for having a beer with you as a 19-year-old.......but it is odd to see that the state bureaucracy sees it as such a serious problem. Yeah, I can see a soldier coming back from combat in Iraq being arrested for having a beer.
Old enough to be executed, get married, sign contracts, get drafted, pay rent, pay taxes and volunteer for the armed forces? Then you are old enough to drink a beer!

Flying Dutchman; believes that the age for alcohol should still be 18

Answer:



Answer:


The article is poorly written but I believe you are reading it wrong.
I agree with FD on the punishment fitting the crime... this seems to be overboard while other actions (counseling, public service work, weekend lockup) would seem more prudent than putting an 18-23 year old out on the highways without a license (and therefore without insurance).
However, DUI / DWI is becoming very un-PC, therefore common sense becomes lacking.

Answer:

Seems like another case of feel good legislation to me!
PK

Answer:

What? No "open liqour container" bans?

Answer:

" Missouri teens could lose their drivers' licenses or possibly a spot on the football team if they're caught drinking alcohol under legislation that won initial Senate approval Tuesday'.
GOD fobid your parents in the State of Missouri find out their kid loses a spot on the football team for drinking!!!
What is the age limit up to now in Missouri for kids to legally get married. 12!!
Copyright © 2007 - 2011 www.cartaste.com